Recycling Seed Catalogs Into Whimsy Art!


Ahh seed catalog season! I love it. It’s the promise of spring all wrapped up in a catalog. The planning, the day dreaming, the anticipation of garden fresh produce.

I have kept many of these catalogs year to year because I hate to just flip through pages and toss – such a waste so I have been working on projects that will reuse these fabulous catalogs.

The photos in these are of professional quality and are meant to lure you into spending your money on their seeds and plants. Why not reuse these photos in a project or two?

Here is one I did:

Recycle Garden Seed Catalogs into crafts

All that I did here was cut out some photos from a seed catalog and put them in a collage frame I had on hand. I got that frame at a Black Friday sale not having a use for it in mind when I got it so this was the perfect solution.

This large piece of food “art” now hangs in my dining area and is a great compliment to the purpose of the room….eating!

Until next time!

9 Comments »

  1. 1
    T.S.Mize Says:

    That is absolutely gorgeous! Every now and again I wonder if there is a way to use those photos in magazines, catalogs, etc like this…well, now I know! 😀

  2. 2
    Nicole Says:

    Oh my! I LOVE IT!! What a cute idea! Seriously, I’m a fruit and veggie nut, and my kitchen reflects that. This picture would look beautiful on the wall in their. ME MUST DO THIS!! (But first I have to steal the catalogs back from my dad) *rubs hands together maniacally*

  3. This is a great idea! And not just for seed catalogs.

  4. 5
    Bailey Says:

    What a great reuse/recycle project to hang in your home. I also love looking at the gardening catalogs. I have moved mostly to flower perennials, but we still plant a veggie garden annually.

  5. 6
    Diane Says:

    Beautiful! This is the 2nd post of yours this week that I will implement into my home. The first was the delicious chicken pot pie. Perhaps next week my family will be enjoying chicken pot pie while discussing the new vegetable collage gracing the kitchen wall.

  6. 8
    Mere Says:

    Wow, that is really pretty! You don’t realize what you can do when you set your mind to it!

  7. 9
    Miranda Says:

    That is a gorgeous idea! A nice touch of color. What a creative way to use what you have on hand for an original piece. I love it. I love your page btw!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

