Christmas Clearance Items – Hard to Resist!


Christmas Clearance Items

I love Christmas clearance items. I got some really nice things this year and it will make my dinner table so nice next year.

Out here in rural Iowa, all we have is a Wal Mart and we were lucky to get that just 2 1/2 years ago. Before that, we had to drive 30 miles in any direction get to one.

Among all the other stuff I got, the plate chargers were only $1.25 per box of 4. Normally, these things run $9 I think? Maybe more.

There was also some nice red and green and gold table cloths from Better Homes and Gardens for $2.25. I got the red and the green and then got the matching napkins for 50 cents per package of 2.

All of this is going to look really nice with my plates I got on sale at Fred’s years ago when living in Alabama. I also have some “gold” flatware I got on clearance from Brylane Home years ago too so all of this together is going make for a really pretty table setting for next year’s Christmas dinner.

I really wanted to get all kinds of stuff but I don’t need it, not that THAT has stopped me in the past but I didn’t go overboard although I did get lots of stuff. You can’t hardly resist 75% off. That’s yard sale prices in may cases!

What about you? Do you get Christmas clearance items? What did you get?

Until next time…t

8 Comments »

  1. 1
    T.S.Mize Says:

    I didn’t hit up the sales- usually, I go for the after-Valentines/Easter sales. One time, during an after Easter sale, I kid you not, I had a little old lady HIT me with her cart over Cadbury eggs at a quarter a pop. There was only one tray full left and she REALLY, really wanted them. Lol

  2. I have to consciously keep myself away from anywhere that says “Clearance”. I’m not a big shopper UNLESS something is cheap. Then, it really doesn’t matter if I need it or not. It was good price! lol I have issues.

  3. 4
    Bailey Says:

    I did not get as much this year as we have in the past. People seemed to buy more and the stores that I normally get my clearance items from were cleaned out by Christmas. I was amazed at how much was gone by Christmas Eve.

    However, I still did pick up some items to put away for stocking stuffers for next year for the nieces and nephews. I always send boxes with little items along with their presents. It is much easier when those items are on on-sale then when I have to pay full price. Next year will be more challenging as there were far fewer available.

  4. 5
    Nicole Says:

    I managed to hit Walmart last weekend and picked up a few things. No decorations because we have a bunch. But I did pick up a few gift items for upcoming birthdays. They were little girl body wash, chapstick, etc. sets that were normally $4 and ended up costing $1.25 each. I also picked my husband up some candy since he has a HUGE sweet tooth. I got 4 boxes of Whoppers for $1 total. I also got four different candy barks for $1.00 each, normally $4 each. Also, sleds were marked down. Normally $10 each, I got two for $10.

    I also stopped in Bath & Body Works and bought a few items. They had their huge bottles of hand soap on sale for 5 for $5, so I grabbed some. That’ll last awhile. I also grabbed my husband a shop vac for his truck for $7.99. I was SO happy.

    Honestly, when I get a good deal, I get excited.

  5. 6

    Nice job! I only bought stuff to wrap with for next year, but I got some good deals as well.

  6. 7
    Jenn Says:

    You fared much better than I did 🙂

  7. 8

    I usually hit up the sales but this year I stayed out of the crazy stores on Boxing Day. I spend a lot of money before Christmas. 🙂 You got some nice stuff.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

