Recycled Coffee Can Bag Holder


I do so love to try to reuse things to extend their life. Today, I am posting a plastic bag holder made from a empty coffee can. Remember the post about not throwing away your old calenders? Well, this project also utilizes some of that idea as well.

I realize that the best idea is not to use plastic bags at all. However, that is not as realistic and idealistic as people think. I do think that some day we will all live in a world where there will be no more of these plastic bags but until then, we need a place to put them.

Granted, reusing and recycling coffee cans is not original but I haven’t seen the combination of old coffee can and old calendar combined into one project.

Here’s what you need to do:

Recycled Coffee Can Bag Holder
1. Use any coffee can. This is Butternut. I have access to tons of these through work so it was also free.

Coffee can Crafts
2. Use a piece of paper to create a template for the area you are going to cover. This was notebook paper but I could have done it even more frugally and used scrap paper.

Recycle calendar into crafts
3. Using any photos from any calender, find a month that looks good.

Coffee can recycle calender crafts
4. March worked for this project…with a small dose of January.

Recycle Calendar into bag holder
5. Cut out the picture. I used scalloped scissors and tacky glue that I already had on hand.

Coffee Can crafting
6. Spread the glue on the back of the picture and adhere it to the coffee can. You can use straight scissors if you don’t have shaped scissors. No biggie.

Recycle Coffee Can Recycle Calendar
7. Cut a hole in the lid with a knife.

Recycling Old Coffee Cans
8. Ta Daaaa! You can squish quite a few bags into this can. I can see this idea being used for gifts, Christmas cookies and candy, even Easter Baskets.

Total coast of this project…free because I had everything on hand.

Until next time…

9 Comments »

  1. That is an awesome idea! It is a lot prettier than my reusable grocery bag plastic bag holder. Hehe, try saying that five times fast.

  2. 2

    Keep the projects coming please. With three kids in scouts, we are always looking for inexpensive projects to do with their troops or dens.

  3. Too cute! I use the plastic bags for my twice daily scooping of the kitty boxes (we raise Persian’s and have a TON of litter boxes), and I totally have to make one with a kitty on it to sit in the cattery. Much nicer than the empty soda box that holds them now!

    My Grandma used to poke holes in the bottom of coffee cans and use them for planters in the spring, and I’ve used the metal ones for scooping horse feed. This trumps both of those ideas! 🙂

  4. 4

    This is a fab idea…I’m guilty of using plastic bags at the grocer’s…but we use them for a variety of things at home. I think it would be a fun way to bring out my inner artist when I make this container for my bags. Thanks for the great idea! 🙂

  5. 5

    Wow perfect!

    Want a great project. I’ll be doing this. 🙂 (And may be passing them out. I know some folks who could use it. 🙂 )

  6. 6
    Lisa Says:

    I use mine to store leftovers. They also keep a head of lettuce fresh for a long time.

    Lisa

  7. 7
    Nicole Says:

    What a cute idea! I love it! This would be a great project to do with my daughter.

  8. 8
    T.S.Mize Says:

    Whoah, that’s kinda rad. I always wondered what to do with those things- I have a ton of them stored away that I sometimes put legos and crayons in. I even made stilts for my kid, once! This is a much niftier idea.

  9. 9
    Maria Says:

    This is an awesome idea! I’m creatively stunted by nature so I really appreciate the detailed instructions and photos!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

