Biscuit Topped Chicken Pot Pie


So, my son and daughter in law came over for supper along with my precious grandson, Brian. I told her I was going to be making Chicken Pot Pie and she said she didn’t LIKE Chicken Pot pie so I told her to bring a sandwich LOL

When they got here and she saw it, she said “ooooo” and I reminded her that she said she didn’t like chicken pot pie not realizing that I wasn’t getting it out of those little boxes. Tee Hee!

It was good though. I found the recipe in a Midwest Living magazine. Give it a try!

Biscuit topped Chicken Pot Pie

1 16 oz bag frozen mixed vegetables, thawed
4 cups cubed cooked chicken
3 T butter
1/3 cup flour
3 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup half &half
Pinch nutmeg
1 7.5 oz package refrigerated biscut dough

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Placed thawed vegetables in a tow qt baking dish. Spread cooked chicken over vegetables.

In a smal sauce pan, melt butter over medium heat. Add flour and mix until smooth. Whisk in chicken broth and cook until sauce comes to a boil. Add cream and cook 1 minute longer. Season sauce with salt, pepper and nutmeg. Pour sauce over chicken and vegetables.

Separate biscuits and place over chicken mixture. Bake 18-20 minutes or until biscuits are golden brown and sauce is bubbling. Makes 6 servings.

Until next time….

16 Comments »

  1. I love chicken pot pie. Mine is usually made with a nasty can of cream soup. We are trying to get away from the sodium though, so thanks for the “real” recipe.

    • I bet you could use lower sodium chicken broth. I didn’t do that and just used what I had on hand from what was on sale over Thanksgiving. I wonder if using 2% or skim milk would work too so that it would eliminate a few calories from what the half & half would be putting in. Hmmm.

  2. 3
    Nicole Says:

    We use low sodium chicken broth too. We love it.

    That pot pie looks SCRUMPTIOUS! I just copied the recipe down to try it myself. I love warm foods like that when it’s cold out. It sticks to the ribs. Yum!

  3. 4
    joeyjamie Says:

    I would so be making this if I weren’t boycotting the grocery store. :) I’m trying to clean out what we already have before I do any more shopping.

  4. 5
    T.S.Mize Says:

    I am making this today and blogging about it, tomorrow with a link-back for you.
    I mean, the blog it would be clooooosest to is my work at home blog, but hey, balancing home and family is a HUGE part of what we do, yes? :D
    Reading this with my blood sugar dangling wasn’t a good idea. I kneeeew, I just KNEW it would look as awesome as it does. :)

  5. 6
    Chrystal Says:

    Growing up in the South there are two things I have come to love in my life, biscuits and chicken pot pie! Neither of which are very weight friendly but I have gotten good at tweaking recipes of the years. This looks absolutely beautiful!

  6. 7

    Yum. That looks so good! :)

    You know what I love about this blog? It’s like five minutes of being ‘at the farm house’.

  7. Yep, must try!

  8. 9
    Jenn Says:

    Your recipes + your photos are a deadly combination!

  9. 10
    Chrystal Says:

    Daisy my dear, I picked you for a blog award!

    http://selfemployedwriter.com/2011/01/04/my-first-blog-award/

  10. 12
    Tena Says:

    This is soooooo not the nasty fake stuff in the box! I was born in the south and we love our chicken pot pie, too. Looks like a great recipe.

  11. 13
    T.S.Mize Says:

    Oooon second thought- I made it. It was really tasty- but not so photogenic the way I made it. Lol More practice needed, I guess. :)

  12. 15
    Diane Says:

    This recipe was the lucky find of the day. I made rotisserie chicken last night and this will be a family-pleasing way to use the leftovers.

  13. 16
    Diane Says:

    I made this last night and it was a big hit. My son is a cook in training at a local restaurant and was learning how to make chicken pot pies yesterday. He said this recipe is “awesome”. I save the carcasses when we have roast chicken and I made the broth from a couple of those. Next time I’ll use homemade biscuits. Thanks for posting this recipe.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

